10 Foods You Probably Think Are Vegan—But Aren't - RiseEarth

10 Foods You Probably Think Are Vegan—But Aren't


by Dana Poblete
Thrive Market

Going vegan can sometimes feel like all things sinful are suddenly out of reach, and blandness is the price to pay for a soul-soothing, cruelty-free diet. On the other side of the coin, you may be cheerfully gulping apple juice and melting soy cheese on a veggie pizza, proudly reveling in your ethical choices, oblivious to what's really in your food.

First of all, kudos to you for caring. As a reward, you can feel free to indulge in a few foods you might not have known fall within the confines of a vegan diet. But there are also those items that are easy to assume are totally free of animal products. After all, why would you have any reason to believe that orange juice is pulling the wool over your eyes?

You have the right to know exactly what you can and cannot put into your body based on your beliefs. To help you navigate the world of veganism a little more easily, here are 10 foods that most of us would assume are vegan, but actually contain animal products. And we've added 10 more surprises—foods that don't seem vegan, but are!


Surprisingly Not Vegan:

1. Stout Beer
Certain stout beers (particularly British ones) are filtered with isinglass, a membrane from tropical fish bladders. Some apple juices are filtered with the same stuff. R.W. Knudsen organic apple juice boxes are totally vegan-friendly, though.

2. Worcestershire Sauce
This sauce often contains anchovies. Luckily, Annie’s Homegrown makes a vegan version.

3. Boxed Cake Mixes
Beef fat, labeled as lard, can be hiding inconspicuously in many boxed cake mixes.

4. Sugar
Refined sugar isn’t naturally white—it’s processed with bone char (sometimes labeled as "natural carbon") to make it so. Instead, opt for unrefined sugar such as Big Tree Farms’ Organic Coconut Palm Sugar or Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Sugar.

5. Red Candies
These are often dyed with red pigment extracted from a cochineal insect, which is typically listed as cochineal, carminic acid or carmine. It’s also found in some wine, vinegar, juice and colored pasta. Replace your Red Vines and Twizzlers with vegan-friendly Clif Kid Organic ZFruit Rope.

6. Orange Juice
Juices enhanced with omega-3s often get those amino acids from fish oil and gelatin. Also, added vitamin D is derived from lanolin, a natural oil in the fiber of sheep’s wool.

7. Bread
Omega-3 enhanced bread also uses fish oil, along with animal-derived ingredients typically found in bread including eggs, milk, whey, butter, and honey.

8. Margarine
This may seem like an ideal butter alternative, but it sometimes contains whey, gelatin, and a milk protein called casein.

9. Packaged Peanuts
Certain brands, including Planter’s, contain gelatin.

10. Soy Cheese
What’s the point of soy cheese if it’s not vegan? Casein sometimes gives this stuff its cheesy taste and meltable texture. But don’t give up on it, because vegan versions do exist if you keep a discerning eye out.

Surprisingly Vegan:

1. Chipotle Sofritas
Not only has Chipotle opted out of serving their popular carnitas due to a supplier’s poor treatment of farmed pigs, but they now offer a vegan alternative called sofritas. They’re also making strides in going GMO-free.

2. Oreos
Those creamy centers are unbelievably vegan.

3. Clasico Bacon Habanero Tortilla Chips
Can it be true? Vegan bacon flavor? Yup.

4. Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter Crunch
Oddly enough, this childhood staple contains no animal products whatsoever.

5. Thai Kitchen Pad Thai Noodle Kit
Restaurant pad thai typically contains fish sauce, but this kit allows you to make a vegan version of pad thai at home.

6. Ghirardelli Hot Chocolate
The chocolate hazelnut, chocolate mocha, and double chocolate flavors are creamy, yet totally vegan.

7. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls (Original)
Buttery goodness with no butter at all.

8. Monster and Red Bull Energy Drinks
These gas station staples are vegan, but Guru Natural Energy Drink is a healthier option.

9. Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Frosting
Chocolate and classic vanilla frosting can be paired with your favorite vegan cake recipe.

10. Nature Valley Granola Bars (Brown Sugar)
These vegan granola bars bring a whole new meaning to the "crunchy granola" stereotype.


FREE subscription to Receive Quality Stories Straight in your Inbox!

1 comments:

  1. Monster is not vegan as it's tested on animals :(

    ReplyDelete